Holiday Inspiration

EASY interactive felt board

With Fall officially here, we have been having some cooler and wetter weather.  These days make it tough to go outside, and I wanted something that could keep the kids AND myself entertained on these cold, wet days.  Seeing as I have not had a lot of time on my hands lately, I wanted it to be fairly simple as well.  One evening on what has become my weekly-run to Wal-Mart, I had a stroke of genius- A felt board!!!  There are two things that I love about felt.  1) Felt is CHEAP!  2)  Felt sticks to felt without any adhesive, velcro, nothing.  It’s like magic!

Do you remember my interactive magnetic board I talked about in a previous post?  Well, I decided to use that for the base of my interactive felt board!  If you remember, this is a metal oil drip pan that I got from Wal-Mart, drilled three holes in the top, and hung it on the wall in our playroom.   Seeing as I like my interactive boards to be interchangeable on the wall, I decided to simply turn it around and use the back.  I simply laid the felt (I bought 2 yards, which was MORE than enough) on top of the pan and traced the outline of the pan using a sharpie marker.  After cutting it out, I just hot-glued it on.  Ta-Da!  That’s it!

  IMG_7854

Wal-Mart not only sells felt my the yard, but also felt squares in EVERY. COLOR. IMAGINABLE.  For 20-something cents a piece, I stocked up.  Going with the Halloween theme, I decided to cut out pumpkins that the kids could put faces on.  Using orange, I free-handed a pumpkin and cut it out.  I then just cut out a variety of shapes from the black felt that could be used on the faces.  THAT’S IT!  I told you this was easy!

IMG_7855     IMG_7856

I love that this activity can be tailored to every season and time of the year.  Can’t you just imagine putting feathers on a turkey (hello counting activity), ornaments on a Christmas tree, Easter eggs in a basket and so on.  The best part is that they can do it over and over and over again!

IMG_7861

And let’s say your little one isn’t quite old enough to put the faces on the pumpkin.  Don’t worry!  Simply feeling the felt pieces and exploring the different colors is a great activity for babies.  To be completely honest, T and the boys are much more interested in UN-decorating the pumpkins right now than they are in putting the faces on them, but even this action is good for developing their fine motor skills.  The great thing about this board, is that children of ALL ages can and will enjoy!   Trust me, even “big” kids will enjoy this activity! 😉

IMG_7863     IMG_7862

What ideas do you have for the felt board?!?!  I’m so excited to see where we can take this!!!

Want MORE ideas for Halloween or the holidays?!?!  Follow me on Instagram @stephbivone where I post pictures, almost daily, of our activities!

One thought on “EASY interactive felt board

Leave a Reply

