Art Activities

Winter Hand and Footprint Crafts

Happy 2016 friends!!!  I cannot believe that we are already 20 days into the New Year, and this is my first post.  Sorry about that.  To make it up to you, I have compiled all of our winter art from the past two years.  Hopefully you will find some inspiration to make these cold days inside a little more bearable, as well as to help you remember just how little those hand and feet were.

Cardinals in the Snow

      IMG_9204

This has quickly become one of my favorite pieces that I have EVER done with the kids!  I absolutely LOVE how it turned out.  You can have the same great results with your little ones, and I promise it is easy for anyone to do.  It is simply two red handprints (I recommend pointing the thumbs up for the cardinal’s feather tufts), I then just painted the branches, eyes, beaks, feet, and snow.  The back of the paintbrush is great for eyes and the snow! 😉 The big snowflakes are simply foam snowflakes from the local craft store.  Want more tips on my go-to tools and supplies?!?!  Check out my Art Tuesday post!

Happy New Year

IMG_9479

I love the simplicity of this piece- the hand as the zero, and the foot as the one.  Excited to repeat this piece and compare the size of T’s hands and feet year after year.  Well, until 2020!

Snowmen

IMG_9454     IMG_9441

IMG_9474

Another simple, yet precious, winter piece.  White paint and an upside-down footprint, and you have a snowman! Just add eyes, a carrot nose, arms, hat, and scarf.  I even let T help add some snow flurries with a circular sponge, which she LOVED!!!

Penguins

IMG_9475

I did this piece with T last year, and I almost didn’t put it into this post.  I see so much that can be improved upon… I think that both T and I have grown as artists since then.

Mittens

IMG_9478

Not a masterpiece like the cardinals, but still precious!  Loved turning T’s hands into mittens.  I made a snowflake stamp out of pipecleaners for and added winter effect.  T loved stamping the snowflakes onto this piece.  My advice for letting the kids add their own touches is to LET GO!  I know…. Incredibly difficult (especially for a type A person like myself).  I want to help T as she places each snowflake or stroke, but then I remind myself how much pride she is building doing this on. her. own.  The extra “smudges” and “imperfections” will only add to the piece.

Snowflakes

IMG_9476

IMG_9453

IMG_9477

You know how they say that no two snowflakes are alike?!?!  Well, this has never been more true, as no two kids have the same hands and feet.  With so many possibilities, I love make snowflakes with T’s hands and feet.  The first picture was from last year, when I used just her feet.  It was one of my favorites, and was framed for most of the winter.  The second I did just this week.  What do you think?!?!  It was much better in my mind, but I love that it includes T’s hands and feet.  I added a hint of glitter to make it even more snowflake-ish, which may be hard to see in the picture, with some glue and white glitter.  The last picture is one that I did a few weeks ago.  It is currently framed on our mantel, and I love how it turned out.  While T’s white handprint was still wet, I drug the back of a paintbrush to make the design in her handprint.  The back of the paintbrush also helped me to make the dots in the background.  😉

Hopefully you have found some inspiration for a winter craft or two that you want to try with your little ones.  I’m always here if you have any questions about how to complete projects, and I LOVE hearing your own inspirations!!!  Follow me on Instragram, @stephbivone.  Thank you for following along on this journey.  Stay warm out there, and enjoy the snow days with your little ones!

~Stephanie

Leave a Reply

